Home » writing » novel writing » To the Library for Novel Outline Type-Up

To the Library for Novel Outline Type-Up

I went to the Library on Saturday to get away from my family and get some work done. I typed up page after page of notes on the outline of my novel, “Postmortal Parenting and the Seven-Child Leaders of the Earth,” which I am doing with the guidance of author, instructor John Truby (“The Anatomy of a Story: 22 Steps to Becoming a Master Storyteller”). At home, it would have never been done, even though I have a computer. Why? Right now, I am breastfeeding, not lending to good easy-on-the-back typing of large amounts of text. When my husband is home, it is still not possible to do it, because the kids need to be taken care of, the house needs to be cleaned, food needs to be prepared, kids need questions answered, people call me on the phone, and my husband wants quality wife time. Even an hour at the library accomplishes so much more than months at home. It’s sad, but true. I am grateful that the county library system just gave us a new, closer library branch which is modern, clean, sophisticated, small, uncrowded and quiet.

Leave a Reply

