Home » graphic design » marketing » brochure » Company Owner, Testimonial, & Taxes

Company Owner, Testimonial, & Taxes

I am really more of a company owner than a graphic designer. People who think I make money by doing graphic design are seriously mistaken. I am almost done with my income/outgo, for taxes, in excel. I really need to be better this year at this stuff. I am behind in that I haven’t paid my annual state sales tax yet. I hope I don’t have to pay a fine.

I am working on marketing, too. I am trying to get a really good brochure. I’ve just finished reading Michael Huggins’ white paper about how to make a successful brochure (for the 5th time). I have been reading “Linchpin: Are You Indespensible?” by Seth Godin, to try to figure out what my company will become. That way, I’ll know what to focus my brochure on so that I can get the business I want, in order to make my company what I want it to be.

I know more than anything, I need a testimonial. I asked my long standing, favorite and wonderful client for one.

“I’m going to get you a testimonial. I just want to get you exactly what you need,” said my client on the phone yesterday morning. I’d called about getting the ball rolling further on the business card for his second-to-be-company.
I’ve been doing everything to get a testimonial, for years, from any client. He’s been waiting because he doesn’t know if it will be good enough. He’s worried I won’t get exactly what I want from him. He wanted to know what I want from him. It is sad that in this world, there are probably companies who want their clients to give a fake testimonial. I am sad if that is what he thought I wanted.
I said, “All I want is for you to explain, as if you were talking to someone who is thinking about working with me, why you work with me. I just want you to tell the truth. Don’t make anything up! Then you can tell them what I have done to help your business.”
Then I explained why I need it. “You know,” I said, “How they say not to have all your eggs in the same basket. Well, you are my only client right now, and I need to have more clients, because if ever you didn’t have work for me to do, I would just not have work. You do understand, don’t you?”
He said yes. I got off the phone smiling, and said, “YES!” and I am really hoping for something this time. I have asked for testimonials so many times, from so many people. I just hope it really is going to happen this time!
Leave a Reply

