Home » Homeschool » About homeschooling » Writing, Reading, Spelling and Math

Writing, Reading, Spelling and Math

I have decided we need to focus more on Spelling and Math in our home education. I think they are so important. I am not going to go into detail about which kids are behind their grade levels, or where I want them to be, but I am going to tell you that I have made yet another new schedule, one which includes more reading, writing, spelling and math than did the previous one. 

I am really hyped up about it and so are the kids. My kids have known they needed to work on these subjects more. We just haven’t, because I have tried to fit in every single thing I want them to learn before they are adults, into each homeschool year, which is just not possible.

I really DO want my kids to know how to be an adult. I am just slowing it down. They can’t know it all now. We are not superhuman and cannot fit more into a day than other people can. I have to humble myself and focus on the small things, in order that I may get big results over time.

For now, these are our focuses. One thing I like about homeschooling is how flexible it is. It wasn’t until my kids made me lose my patience, go outside and read the newspaper on the back porch for 5 minutes to “cool off” my anger and re-gain a heavenly perspective, while reading it, that it dawned on me, TODAY IS SEPTEMBER 11th. WHY AM I NOT MAKING THIS A DAY OF REMEMBRANCE? I went inside and had a new plan. Today would be PATRIOT DAY in our home. I asked the kids what September 11th was. They were clueless. This was unacceptable. My plans for the lessons of the day went in the trash, so to speak, and we watched things about September 11th. No child of mine would be unknowledgeable about this day. Not while I am in charge.

I tell you this because I don’t want you to think that because we are going to focus more on Writing, Reading, Spelling and Math, that we do only those, or that we can’t just grab any day we want to, and do something completely off of the regular plan that day. I do have the other subjects in my schedule plan, and I do allow us to do unscheduled, impromptu things, as needed. I have added more time to the subjects mentioned here, though, and I think that is needful now.

If my children were having a hard time with these subjects in public school, the teacher would not change the plan, or the schedule, or the curriculum, for my child. I can, though, and that is a beautiful thing about homeschooling!

Leave a Reply

