Home » Homeschool » About homeschooling » I am a Homeschool Mom, Which Means I Am a Teacher!

I am a Homeschool Mom, Which Means I Am a Teacher!

I am so tired of being excluded from conversations because I am seen as the wrong kind of teacher. I try so hard to get into conversations with full time paid teachers to let them know that I have so many experiences similar to theirs, and so much in common with them. Why can’t they see me as a teacher, too? I also worry about curriculum. I teach fractions, too. I teach reading, too. I teach kids to discuss stories and their meanings, too. I search for lesson plan ideas, too. I get worried over how to get kids excited about creative writing, too. I read aloud to my kids, too. I work late into the night and plan all summer, too. I get worn out and exhausted from working with kids all day, too.

Sure, we also have our differences. The problem is, all that the public school teachers see, are the differences, the things we do not have in common. If you are a public school teacher, please do not exclude homeschool moms from the conversation! We have a lot in common. Can we not just focus on what we have in common, instead of fretting over how we are different?

I have seen worksheets used by public school teachers, made by homeschool moms. It was found in the credits at the bottom of the sheet. I have used things made by public school teachers, found on Pinterest, made by public school teachers.

Granted, I do not have to do tests or common core, but I still think we can be friends. Perhaps when we do not see one another as someone to be feared, things will get better. If we help each other, things will improve for both homeschool moms and public school teachers!

Leave a Reply

