Home » Homeschool » About homeschooling » Eclectic Homeschooling: A Family- Created Mix

Eclectic Homeschooling: A Family- Created Mix

I consider myself an eclectic homeschool mom, and my favorites are 1) religious, 2) unschooling, 3) iPad learning, 4) school at home, 5) TJED Vanguard group, co-ops and field trips, and 5) Montessori. Every eclectic homeschool has a different mix. Every year, my mix has changed. It is called eclectic because it is a mix of styles.

You will find in meeting people who consider themselves eclectic homeschoolers, that every eclectic homeschool has a different mix. Also, you will find that this mix changes, to “roll with the punches.” My mix started out with 1) school at home, 2) religious, 3) Unit studies, and 4) learning games.

My second year, my mix was 1) whole language language arts and Constance Kamii math 2) montessori, 3) religious

I love being an eclectic homeschool mom. This means whatever works best that year, we do. It means I do not shove away something different that I hear about. If it works and we love it, we embrace it!

Leave a Reply

