Home » Homeschool » About homeschooling » Advantages of Homeschooling » Think You Aren’t “Cut Out” For Homeschooling? Wrong!

Think You Aren’t “Cut Out” For Homeschooling? Wrong!

Are you cut out for sleeping in?

Are you cut out for staying up late when you feel like it?

Are you cut out for putting tests out of your mind forever?

Are you cut out for chosing what your kids need to learn and only needing approval from your husband, Heavenly Father and the kids?

Are you cut out to have a read a thon all day whenever you feel like it?

Are you cut out to help your kids learn about what they want to learn about?

Are you cut out to read to your kids for hours?

Are you cut out to let your kids run out and play when they feel like it?

Are you cut out to go to museums and fun learning centers while all the other kids are in school?

Are you cut out to have parent teacher conferences while on dates with your husband?

Are you cut out to have more mom friends than you have ever had before?

Are you cut out to have more social activities with other homeschool families than you can possibly say yes to?

Are you cut out to let your kid take gymnastics, karate or dance during the day, during the “school year,” when it is not crowded?

My kids don’t take tests.

The only projects my kids do are the ones they want to do.

My kids can can go outside and play during the day all year round.

My kids keep their homeschool friends year after year.

My kids have the same teacher year after year.

I am currently working on designing a math curriculum for my kids. I am 100% in charge of the math standards for my family.

I don’t have to wake up my kids and get them ready in a hurry.

My son sleeps in most days!

When we feel like watching movies all day, we do.

I do not have to get the kids “to bed on time, because it is a school night.”

I don’t have to get my kids to do homework assigned them by someone else. I am the one giving the assignments.

I do not have to push my child. I let my child learn the way he or she best learns, at his or her own level, and with no pressure.

I don’t have to deal with pressure from my child’s teacher(s) to get my child to study, study, study or do practice tests.

I don’t have to psych my kids up for the tests.

I get to see happy, unstressed kids every day.

My kids love themselves.

My kids are not depressed or suicidal.

My kids don’t feel peer pressure much. When they do, it is extremely rare.

I live a life without PTA meetings.

I do not have to help the school fund raise.

My kids eat whqt they want for lunch every day, out of real foods, whole foods, and healthy foods available at home.

I can decide when to go on field trips, to the homes of other homeschool families, whenever I feel like it.

I lost track of the number of “field trips” we do.

I do not worry about my kids being behind. I do help them learn constantly.

I know how I can help my eldest get an associates degree by homeschooling college. Crazy, eh? True.

My kids learn even when they are sick.

“Snow day” here means it snowed, and the kids go tubing or build snowmen.

“Spring” here means we get to go outside and play. It does not mean “test time!”

Leave a Reply

