Home » Homeschool » About homeschooling » The Advantages of Homeschooling Outweigh its Disadvantages

The Advantages of Homeschooling Outweigh its Disadvantages

Most people are completely blind to the advantages of homeschooling. I think the problem is, they have a world view holding them captive.

This will be similar to trying to explain to non-parent, what joys there are found in having and raising a child! Let’s imagine a conversation involving a person who does not want to be a parent, and a person who loves being one.

“I would never want to have a kid. They are too much work.”

“I cannot imagine my life without my children. I love them so much!”

“Children are a burden, though. They hold you down.”

“I will not tell you that there are not sacrifices, or that it is not really, really hard, because it is very hard, and there have been many sacrifices. I will tell you, though, that it is worth it!”

This mother will not likely ever convince this person that the advantages of having a child outweigh the difficulties and sacrifices, because the other person’s worldview is so different from her own. The other person does not see the children as often as the mom does. She does not experience the day to day joys of parenting.

Just as this would be diffiult for the mother, to help the other woman see it from her worldview in this imaginary scenario, so it is difficult for me to explain to people who have or have had, their kids in public school, what it is like on a day to day basis, and how muh joy there is, teaching my kids without any help from a public school.

However, I am motivated, because I would really like for others to try to see a tidbit of the joys of homeschooling, so that more people around me will understand why I do what I do.

So, here goes nothin.’

My kids never have to feel the day to day peer pressure. They do not have to feel the day to day awkwardness of not fitting in. Every day, they are themselves. If someone said to them, “Just be yourself,” they wiuld be confused as to why that person said that, because they have never tried to be anyone else. They have no reason to. My younger kids do not know what “popular” means. My oldest does, because she is 12 and experienced some of that weirdness from public-schooled kids at church activities.

My kids don’t ever get teased for being smart or for listening well when I teach. They don’t get teased for learning well and understanding things. They don’t get grouped into a peer group based on their learning or skills or talents. They don’t get put on a pedastal for their accomplishments, filling them with destroying pride. They do get to be treated as unique, special, and as people with special talents which can be used for good, to help make the world a better place.

The children who have never been to public school in my home, do not know what grades are. They do not know what tests are.

One thought on “The Advantages of Homeschooling Outweigh its Disadvantages

  1. Pingback: LDS General Conference Notes Printable | LDS Homeschool Mom

Leave a Reply

