Home » All posts » Make a Personalized, Well-Rounded Preparedness Plan

Make a Personalized, Well-Rounded Preparedness Plan

There are so many things to do to prepare. ayou are not even close. How are you going to get there? How can you afford it? How can you glean the time for all of it? It is just too much. Will all these thoughts hinder you from even taking the simplest first step?

My daughter made a simple outline: water, food, shelter. I love it but wanted something more specific and step-by-step, including more aspects, such as financial and spiritual preparedness.



I have had these questions and have come up with a great solution for everyone! Make your own personalized, well-rounded Step by Step Table and Outline plan. Include in each step, these: 

A. financial, B. spiritual, C. knowledge, D. skills, E. emotional & social, F. temporal

I have a plan like this personalized for me and my family. I am excited about how personalized it is. It would not even work for you because it is just exactly for me and my family! It protects my emotional and mental side, making it impossible to feel overwhelmed when learning about what may happen, when it may happen and what we will need for all of that.

Having a plan for the order in which I will work on things really helps. Before the personalized plan, I would read and learn about all these things and oh, how eqch preparedness item jumped out at me. NO, THIS ONE IS MOST IMPORTANT. BUT YOU CANNOT LIVE WITHOUT THAT ONE! I could not do it all and I knew it, leaving me feeling frustrated and upset, worried and unable to sleep.

At The Whole Person Preparedness Conference in Northern Utah Saturday, there were so many vendors and so many items for sale. There was so much information, too, that it was impossible to take it all in. I am so glad that I knew my plan in my head. I was able to focus and say to myself that yes, that there is important, but not the step I am working on now. I was able to shut put and ignore all of it except the step I am already working on now. 

I have made an outline. Each step has goals for:

A. financial, B. spiritual, C. knowledge, D. skills, E. emotional & social, F. temporal

Here is my personalized step One, including each of the categories above:

I.A. A very personal financial one I will not share

I.B. Get habit of nightly prayer with my husband

I.C. Teach my 6 year old to read

I.D. Teach my kids gardening, nutrition and essential oil basics

I.E. Closeness to parents and siblings; Closeness to my husband and kids. Organize family monthly get-togethers.

I.F. Organize, label, and find on the internet (then print) instructions for garden seeds. Put some in emergency backpack for future (labeled and with instructions). Get popsicle sticks and write labels on them for garden planting now and for emergency backpack.

Most people right now in the prepper universe are only focusing on temporal preparedness, so it is likely they would only have I.F. above, on their list. I do not fault them, as I have been doing the same. However, my new goals which I have made through prayer and pondering in the middle of the night while everyone is sleeping, are written on a table which has lines for each step on the left:

I.

II.

III.

IV.

etc.

and divisions for each category listed along the top of the table:

A. financial, B. spiritual, C. knowledge, D. skills, E. emotional & social, F. temporal

So, when I put it in outline form, it will be like this:


Lisa Jackson Family Well-Rounded Preparedness Step by Step Plan


I. Step One set

A. financial, B. spiritual, C. knowledge, D. skills, E. emotional & social, F. temporal

II. Step 2 set

A. financial, B. spiritual, C. knowledge, D. skills, E. emotional & social, F. temporal

III. Step 3 set

A. financial, B. spiritual, C. knowledge, D. skills, E. emotional & social, F. temporal

IV. Step 4 set

A. financial, B. spiritual, C. knowledge, D. skills, E. emotional & social, F. temporal


Each letter and category builds upon the one before it. For example, after the pray with my husband nightly step (B. spiritual) is, in Step II.A. Make a habit of reading the Book of Mormon daily. This way, in each category, my family and I are gradually progressing. 

I am very excited about this plan because it includes all aspects of my life and my responsibilites as a wife and a homeschool mom. It will prepare me and my family in all of these ways. It makes things much less overwhelming to me mentally. It is personalized.

I have to admit, first, I did make a temporal only one. I wrote and re-wrote about 10 times, a step by step plan until I felt done and lie it was perfect and did not need any more tweaks. Perhaps I will create a blog post a out just that one. I used it to do all of the “F. Temporal” pieces of each step in my outline. Having it ready made the well-rounded outline easier to make, because when I got to “F,” I just looked at my chart and plopped it in.

As you see, the “F. Temporal” has to do with seeds for gardening. This is indeed seasonal and for the time I am in.  It is mid-March. I would have a different temporal goal first were it June or November!

I encourage you to make a similar personalized plan. Only you know yourself and your immediated family personally enough to do this, so do not use my plan. I just shared it as an example. Now go to it! Make a personalized, well-rounded preparedness plan using the above outline. It will be fun!

Leave a Reply

