Home » All posts » The Husband’s Role in Homeschooling

The Husband’s Role in Homeschooling

“I could never do that!” I have hear this many times. I have also heard, “I would not have the patience.” I have heard, “I am not organized enough.” My husband is my teammate in this journey of homeschooling and he is just as much involved in this as I am. What does he do to make homeschooing work? 

  • He does much of the shopping.
  • He does much of the housework.
  • He does much of the cooking and meal preparation.
  • He does much of the laundry work.
  • He often helps the children with “homeschool learning assignment completion” each evening.
  • He supports me emotionally when I am falling apart.
  • He discusses with me and helps me find solutions to, our daily issues with each child and incident.
  • He does not complain.
  • He does not push me to send the kids back to public school.
  • He encourages me to go to retreats, homeschool conferences and meetings with other homeschool moms. When I do go, he is a great dad for the kids and does not complain.
  • He does not complain about the messiness of the house.
  • He makes sure others know the truth about our homeschooling journey. He does not let others belittle me and lets them know he is with me 100% on this. Many come to him with the myths about homeschooling, too.
  • He understands and usually lets me have my way when I need him to take me on a date “right now” or when I need him to buy dinner out this night.
  • He lets us use money from the budget for the expenses of homeschooling and does not complain.
  • He sees family memberships for learning field trips as necessities and sees why I prefer he go with me on  many of our field trips on weekends, which makes my life easier.
2 thoughts on “The Husband’s Role in Homeschooling

Leave a Reply

