Home » All posts » My Homeschoolers Will not Skip Middle School or High School

My Homeschoolers Will not Skip Middle School or High School

I read the book by Mona Lisa and Kip Harding about how they sent their kids to college at ages 9-12 and had graduates with Bachelors degrees before age 20. I have also read many books about early college, testing to get college credits and so forth. I have mulled over it, tried some things and learned a lot.

I have seen all the arguments about how kids are capable of so much more and how we are holding them back. I decided not to hold my kids back, but have discovered that this also means not pushing them forward. I am not holding my kids back or pushing them forward. I am letting them be where they are and enjoy it. I am not going to them back, nor am I going to try to push them ahead, either.

Holding a child back is bad. We need to let them do what they are ready to do. Pushing them ahead is just as bad, but in the other direction. I realize that homeschool can be so different from public school in this hold back or push forward thing, but I can also see that there is so much that my child needs to do in the middle school and high school years to be ready for the next set of years. 

I have been getting my child through the middle school years. She is now approaching the maturity and readiness needed for High School learning. I can see how there is no way she can skip high school and do early college, either. She needs to do things to be ready and she also needs the time to get ready mentally, emotionally, spritually and socially.
I have still not decided whether my kids will go to college or not. I have been reading about having them do univeristy on their own (Zero Tuition College, etc.) and I am still so unsure. For now, I have decided to prepare them for university the whole time they are under 18, and, when they are 18, they can decide. I will present the information on learning without paying the University tuition, about scholarships, about college life and will encourage them to “try” the university at least one semester to experience it. Then I will let them decide. We have money saved up for education beyond age 18. Scholarships would still help and earning money while in it would help, also.

We shall see what the future brings. For now, I am going to finish this last year of middle school with my child and enjoy this part of her life with her. Middle School is an important part of life and education!

This below is the inspiration for this post. Read it and please read my comment on it!

Can your child skip middle school and go straight to high school? Some facts to consider before making the decision.

7 thoughts on “My Homeschoolers Will not Skip Middle School or High School

  1. I am a big believer in giving my children TIME to grow and TIME to just be kids. I don’t want to push them out of their childhood years too soon. Even at 18, my oldest daughter chose to stay home for one more year before starting her college education and that turned out to be another year of growth and maturity which helped her to be successful her first year in college. She spent that extra year giving weekly service in a Peruvian orphanage, an experience she would’ve missed out on if she’d gone straight to college from high school. I think progressing to a higher education is important, but not at the cost of the childhood years.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This >> “I decided not to hold my kids back, but have discovered that this also means not pushing them forward. I am not holding my kids back or pushing them forward. I am letting them be where they are and enjoy it.” That’s where I’m at, too. Thanks for sharing the conversation with me!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Some people homeschool, but they never leave the state paradigm. And I’m glad they do, and I understand that it’s a difficult thing to escape.

    But who decides when a child is ready for college, or what he’s supposed to learn there? Economics? Heavens no. Necessity? Lord I hope not. No, it’s bureaucrats and elitists who have appointed themselves as “experts”. But a glance at the mess these “experts” have made of what is called American Education ought to give the loving parent pause when using their standards to measure their children.

    You’re doing the right thing. The word “vocation” comes from the word “call”… as in “vocal” I guess. Every child has a call on his life, and that child, if properly nurtured along his way, will find and fulfill that call. Once we get past the bragging rights of an “expert’s” education and move on into the call on our children’s lives, we’ll be way ahead in terms of childhood and adulthood happiness.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I totally agree with you! It is funny – I have been thinking about my kids and early graduation lately too (I have twins that are technically in 7th grade). After much thought my husband and I realized that having the kids with us for 6 more years is a beautiful prospect for us, as we will have that much more time to watch them grow, and wonderful for them since they will have the time to expand their knowledge in areas they have passion for. I also feel that college may not be the right thing for my kids. There are so many alternative options that are much, much more cost effective today and who knows what things will be like in 6 years. Regardless, I really enjoyed reading your post and am glad to have found your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

