Home » Diet » vegan » Vegan at the Cracker Barrel

Vegan at the Cracker Barrel

Vegan at the Cracker Barrel seem a bit impossible? Well, I did it last night. Of course, I had to have the manager come out and arrange special things for me and discuss what things are vegan.

It turns out they cook their sprouts with ham, their pinto beans have ham in them, they cook most of their veggies and even their rice in beef broth, and much more. At least they were honest!

However, I ordered a garden salad which has a vegan dressing, a plain baked potato, corn with no margarine and a fresh seasonal fruit dish. The  at the last minute, she mentioned that one manager she knew was vegan and loved their granola (which they usually put on the yogurt). That sounded great, so I ordered that (no yogurt).

My faves were the garden salad, baked potato and granola. The granola had dried berries, oatmeal and almonds. It was delicious and seemed very healthy. The baked potato was huge and the garden salad was so yummy. I used some of the dressing that was for the salad, for my baked potato. I also added a bit of salt and a bit of pepper to it.

So you can eat vegan there. I sent them a comment on their website thanking them for being hospitable and helpful (some restaurants aren’t). I also asked them to have a “special diets” section in their menu with a “vegan” subsection. I asked them for veggie and rice options without butter or beef broth. I suggested they cook rice in vegetable broth.

Leave a Reply

