Home » All posts » Being a Good Little Humanist

Being a Good Little Humanist

I believe that what he is saying here is that even in church, your kids aren’t fully being taught your religion. They are being taught partially your religion and partially humanism that they were taught in school when they were a kid. This is a very true thing and very true even in my church, the LDS or Mormon church. Even there, I can see that the influence of humanism is present. It is so subtle that most people would never notice it. I notice because I have been reading about what humanism is, I also was taught humanism in school growing up. I am just now figuring out what it is and how I have been taught to believe all these things which are humanist things.

One of the humanist things is to try not to offend people on weekdays, when not among fellow church members, by not saying “The Holy Ghost told me to go check on my son.” Instead, in order to be a good humanist that I have been trained to be in public school, I say, “I felt like I should go check on my son.” Subtlety. Now, in church, we’d be perfectly o.k. saying it the first way, but when talking to our neighbors? No. We are good little humanists. We will change our wording. It is easy because we learned to do it 6.5 hours a day 180 days a year for 13 years!

 “This may seem like an odd reason, so let me explain. I’ll start by strongly asserting that no one, not me, not you, not anyone, can live their lives in a culture and not be affected by it.  Like it or not, you’ve imbibed more of the culture than you realize, and you, right now, […]”

https://365reasonstohomeschool.wordpress.com/2016/04/20/reason-222-because-church-leaders-were-not-homeschooled/

Leave a Reply

