Home » All posts » Phonics and Whole Language “Learn to Read” Lesson Plans

Phonics and Whole Language “Learn to Read” Lesson Plans

I have lesson plans for three weeks for teaching my children to read. I am so excited because I have made it so there is a variety of books and styles. Some are phonics based. Some a whole language based. Different companies have developed different kinds of books for teaching kids to read and, using a great variety of books which I own, I made plans.

The first lesson tells me to teach them to read using “Meet the Sight Words” 1:1, “The Jump Rope.” It then says to read, “Dick and Jane” series book 1: “We Look.”

Montessori Lowercase Alphabet Practice Workbook
Lesson 2 says to read: “At Home,” Chapters 1-3. It teaches using repetition and whole language style. Next on the list to read is the Pre-Reader from Frontline Phonics (an old version). It is called, “Pam.” That one uses phonics style. I like a combination of phonics method and whole language method for teaching my kids to read.

Leave a Reply

