Home » All posts » Screen Time in Our Homeschool

Screen Time in Our Homeschool

Screen time in this house:

We have to take turns on the iPad and it is a large family

There are only educational apps and Netnanny for the internet

The internet via Netnanny is heavily guarded by many witnesses unafraid to tattle on a sibling

I assign which apps I want them to use (yesterday, my daughter was assigned “CLEP Western CIvilization I” app. Another was told “History, Geography or Science.” Another was told, “Math.”)

Sometimes they grumble about all this but they will be o.k.

There is no Wii or “non-educational” television until after dad gets home. Those are homeschool hours.

There are only certain situations in which I will let them watch educational shows, sometimes on DVD and somtimes on t.v. They have to ask permission.

Many times if they watch t.v. or a DVD, it is a DVD I bought which features a math, science, creative writing or history teacher lecturing. Oh, yeah!

Here is an article about screen time addiction that I find very sad. I know because I was addicted so much to facebook that I quit it cold turkey in February becuase of my screen addiction! Screen Addiction is Like Drug Addiction, Raises Dopamine Levels Lots!

I thought you would like this very exciting video made with an iPad app about the Book of Mormon.

Leave a Reply

