Home » Homeschool » Homeschool Curriculum » Homeschool Standards or Curricula by grade level » 2nd Grade Homeschool » Dealing with Dyslexia in Homeschool Reading Instruction

Dealing with Dyslexia in Homeschool Reading Instruction


The first thing I did a couple of years ago was take him in for an eye exam. He needed glasses for far-sightedness, which means things are blurry when up-close. This gave him trouble with worksheets and reading. When that was figured out, his reading improved a huge step, but something was still not right. 

Having a few other children whom I had taught or helped teach to read, I knew this was not the same. He was struggling with things my other children had not struggled with. Researching online, I came to an educated guess that he is dyslexic. I also came to the conclusion that dyslexia does not make it impossible to learn to read. It just makes its instruction take more time and patience. 

Today he read about 6 pages in “Frolic and Do-Funny” and all of the other books in the photo completely.  I have been having him read to me every day for about an hour. I stop when I can tell he is getting tired of it and worn out (which is easy to tell). I am happy that he is getting faster at reading, makes mistakes less often and recognizes more words. It has been hard work but it is becoming worth it now.

I love the joy on his face now as he can enjoy the stories more readily now because he is reading faster and more smoothly. I know we still have a long way to go to get him reading as well as his siblings, but that is okay. It is now becoming a more enjoyable journey. I love sitting with him and having him read to me!

I saw many strategies for dyslexic reading instruction online. I think the best method is simply love, patience and time. It is having the child read to you every day while you love your child. It is knowing that it is okay that your child has been told that word 300 times and still does not recognize it yet. It is telling your child what the word is in a calm voice yet again because you know that dyslexia is hard and you are okay with your child taking his or her time learning that word.

Leave a Reply

