Home » Homeschool » Homeschool Curriculum » alfie kohn » Better Learning Happens in Homeschooling and Other Settings by Avoiding Lecture-Style Teaching

Better Learning Happens in Homeschooling and Other Settings by Avoiding Lecture-Style Teaching

This is so good! Please read it if you ever teach anything to anyone! Please especially read it if you are a homeschool mom!

Don’t Lecture Me! Is a brand new blog post essay by Alfie Kohn. It addresses high school, college and university lecture style teaching. It could very much be applied to teaching in church classes, teaching in Family Home Evening, teaching homeschool at all levels, including and especially homeschooling high school. It could even include homeschooling university or college if that is what you want to do. 
Lecture style teaching is what much of my elementary, junior high, high school and university education consisted of, but it was not what worked best for me. I remembe well the lessons of the teachers and professors when they used other means, such as hands on learning, forcing us to discover answers to difficult questions via our own investgations, group preparation for presentations, and class dicussions.

I do think it is funny that he says that using a power point presentation proves the uselessness of the lecturer. I remember going to listen to speeches or going to classes wherein the lecturer said not to worry about copying the slides because a handout would be given to us with all the slides of the power point included. That makes me just want them to write a book I can read in my pajamas late at night or early in the morning, or in the afternoon when I am trying to catch my breath again after a stressful few hours. Really, more of these people should be writing books. Why are people afraid of writing books 📚 but not afraid of creating a power point presentation? I would rather write a book. I do not know how to make a power point presentation. I guess each person has a preference.

Parenting, Homeschooling and Lectures

When I lecture my kids, whether about socializing, the gospel, housework, gardening, getting along with each other, math, history, art, grammar, science or behavior,  I see them not caring.

Sometimes I get after them like it is their fault they are bored 😷 sick. I say something similar to, “Should I stop ✋🏼 then? I feel like you are not listening.” Their replies are programmed and in unison because of past lectures they have heard from me. They say something like, “No, Don’t stop! We are listening!”
Sadly, I go on, as if I think their reply means that they will learn now because they will now listen to my lecture with renewed enthusiasm. It is so silly. I am so glad Alfie Kohn wrote this. It really makes me think about the way I parent and teach homeschool to my unfortunate child-students. I feel like he wrote it just for the benefit of my poor children so that they can have better lessons taught by their homeschool mom and by their mom!

Here’s to a goal and to hope for more future effort on my part, given to being a more effective (non-lecturing teacher so that my kids can learn better! Go, me! I can lead discussions! I can ask questions which make the kids figure things out on their own! I can teach hands-on lessons!

————
college classes, smaller classroom sizes in college, lecture style university teaching, university lectures, discussion, power point presentations, constructivism, housework, homeschooling, grammar, history, math, gospel, gardening, writing a book, children, listening, goal, hope, better homeschool mom

Leave a Reply

